Your favorite vintage shotgun

Discussion in 'Guns and Ammo' started by winchester97, Feb 4, 2008.

1. winchester97

winchester97 winchester97

Hi, I'm new to the sight, and along the lines of misfit's model 12 thread, I thought I could drum up some good stories about your favorite old shotgun, and how you got it. If nothing else, I'll get to know a few folks in town. As you can guess by my name, mine is a newer Winchester 1897, made in 1950. I got it a few years back from an older gentleman at a gun show who had just walked in from the parking lot. He claimed to have owned it for the past 20 years and gave me his name and number if I ever had any trouble with it. Everything was original and in great shape, with only some bluing wear from normal handling. I have never shot a gun that fits me so well as this one, and will never look back on my purchase. I'm a young guy, but sincerely appreciate the craftsmanship that went into most of the older guns, and hunting with it adds a lot to the experience. Hopefully this wasn't too long winded, and I'll sit back to read the stories.

2. misfit

misfit MOD SQUAD

how much you want for it?:D ;)
    i love those 97's.your gun is older than you think.the last production date was 1943 as far as i know.with a little research of the serial number,you should be able to peg it down.
    one of my dad's brothers had a 10 ga. 97.never could talk him out of it.that hammer could be hazerdous to your thumb sometimes if you're not paying attention:D
    i noticed the 97 is really popular in the new cowboy shooting competitions too.
    as i mentioned in the other thread,mine was made in 1916 and when my dad came home from WWII,he bought mine from an old man.it's the only gun he ever owned.said it was the only one he needed.mine also is fast to the shoulder and feels good.
    those old winchesters were in my opinion,the best pump guns ever built.

3. RANGER 101.6 12ga. sidexside.