close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Why I love to fish!

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Erie Angler '76, Jan 18, 2008.

1. I have been viewing posts on this site for a couple of years now and have been a member for few months. It amazes me how much knowledge/experience this site contains. When I log onto the internet Ohio Game Fishing is either the first or second site I check everyday. Each time I do so I gain knowledge and learn something new, and for that, I thank you all who post your experiences. My question to my fellow anglers is this, Why do you love to fish?

I love to fish because it makes me feel more centered than other time in my life. I feel that briefly, while fishing, I am doing what it is that I am meant to do in life. Don't get me wrong, my family and work are my number one, but, in my "free" time, there is nothing more meaningful/rewarding. What else can make an adult, 31 year old male feel the same way as he did on Christmas morning when he was 8 years old then setting a hook on a September Steelhead, a November shoreline Walleye or a June Smallie. A good friend told me that you will truly know you love something if you can not remember life before that something. Can anyone tell me what my life was like before I discovered fishing? I Can't.

Looking forward to your responses.

2. ezbite

ezbite the Susan Lucci of OGF

if i didnt fish, id be in the bell tower:eek:

just kidding:p but, it is a very good stress reliever and broiled walleye is GREAT!!!

3. You made me play second baaaaaaaaaaase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4. ez.....you THINK you are kidding........you sir, would be in the bell tower without fishing.......... and we would have good company from OGF with us.

for me, best fishin days include a lot of quiet time. long periods of silence are good while fishin.....and are part of many spiritual practices.

fishing alone is a lot like a silent retreat.