close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Where to go?

Discussion in 'Central Ohio Fishing Reports' started by GoneFishin'23, Mar 6, 2005.

1. I'm somewhat new to Central Ohio and looking for some advice on good places to go. I grew up in WV and did a lot of small stream or creek fishing in the late spring /summer months for Smallmouth and Trout.

2. TexasRigged

TexasRigged Lover of all things wet.

I have had some luck at the Big Darby for smallies.

3. flathunter

flathunter Mellons mentor

Try the scioto River, and deer creek.

4. What part of Central Ohio? There are many places to wade and just trying to figure out the closest to you.

5. bassteaser1

bassteaser1 Feared by all that swim

I have no real favorites but on a hot summer day I'll drive around and follow a map and just look for access to a creek with good looking water and try it.It's fun to do and it does waste some time on unproductive spots but you'll normally find yourself a few honeyholes of your own you can always go back to and fish.Us fisherman take great mental notes of hot spots but have no memory to what we were told 5 minutes ago to pick up from the grocery store.Big Walnut has been pretty good to me and if you can find a place to squeeze a little boat in I like fishing between Griggs and Downtown in the River.

6. striperfreak

striperfreak stripes and smallies

olentangy river between worthington and deleware is good small streamin, also below oshaunnesy dam and 161 is good. smallies catfish and saugeye

7. To find any good creek fishin' around here....just park and start walking, get as far away as you can.

Directly below Griggs dam used to be awesome, I could go down there with worms and catch tons of fish........not anymore. Hopefully in a couple more years in will be better down there since they blocked it off, now the lazies can't go down with their R&R softcraws and take every smallie and rockbass they catch.