close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

What type of mech. broadheads

Discussion in 'Bowhunting' started by EPB, Nov 6, 2008.

1. EPB

EPB

Just curious, what type of mechanical broadheads everyone's using. Been using 100 grain Rocket steelheads last few years with OK success. Might try different type. I am shooting both Hoyt Renegade compound and an old Barrnett X box.

Any feed back would be appreciated. THanks

2. littleking

littleking Crossing Lines LIKE A PRO

i've been using spitfires for 3-4 years now, love them. i shoot 125gr

3. PapawSmith

PapawSmith Bud n Burgers

In my experience (Im an older bastard) mechanicals fly nice kill poorly. No more cross country chase downs for me (it's that old thing). Fixed blade Muzzy's from here on out.

4. i agree with paw for sure. i know folks who are lucky to get a pass through and still dont get the deer with mechanics. thats at 20 yards with a 300+ fps crossbow. nothin better than muzzy. shot a buck this year at 15 yards complete pass through picked up the aarow stick'n in the ground and cleaned it off and still sharp as the day i bought it no bends or anything.

5. I agree with the 125 gram spitfires... in the past couple of years I have had 3 totally clean pass thru shots at around 30 yards with only 30 to 50 yds travel before they died.. I think most of it is shot placement!!!!! not a good angle dont shoot!!!! I tried fixed broadheads in the past and I just could not get consistent grouping...... so I am gonna stick with what is working for me...

6. I have used 100 gr Grim Reapers for years without a single issue and every deer that I have shot has been found with in 100 yds. I jumped on the Rage band wagon last year and have since went back to the Reapers. I just wasn't very impressed with the penetration of the Rage's. I know there are a ton of guys who like the Rage's but for me I went back to what I have had success with.

7. baiter10

baiter10 Just keepin' ya honest.