close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

what snake is this?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by leckig, Sep 12, 2005.

1. I got it from a friend and owuld love to keep it for a while, but only, if this is safe for the snake. [​IMG]

2. fishcrazy

fishcrazy Muskie Chaser

I think its a milk snake but you may want to visit your local extention office or wildlife office. If this is a poisonous snake the small ones are just as deadly. i think permits are required to keep wild animals.

Fishcrazzzzzzzzzzy

3. I am no expert by far. Round eye pupil = non-posion........eliptical or diamond pupil = posion.

4. That is a rat snake, but I aint sure which kind. If you caught it here in Ohio, then you are not allowed to have it, but if it isn't native to Ohio, you are fine. I replyed to your PM.

5. It is a Milk Snake....and yes you should look into the rules and regs of keeping wild, native ohio reptiles.

6. That is true for all Ohio snakes, but some poisonous snakes have round pupils too. Like cobras, sea snakes and coral snakes. I have been into snakes ever sinse I was 11. They are my favorite animal, and I like to hunt for them in the summer. I practice the same as if the were fish (catch and release). Also Leckig, if you did catch that here, it is a black rat snake. Although from that picture it does look possible for it to be a eastern milk snake. But I'm sticking with rat snake. Feed them both the same, but if it turns out to be a milk snake, keep in mind that they eat other snakes. All the milk snakes I have caught had redder markings than this snake.

7. Minor

Minor Wannabe Fisherman

have to go with the post that it is a black snake . . . . yet i haven't played with snakes for about ten years now . . .from the pic posted it looks like a black snake . . . if for some reason the pic isn't showing reddish brown tints that the snake has then it could be a milk snake . . .