what do you think

Discussion in 'The Lodge' started by wannabe, Jan 11, 2008.

1. Started off as a good deer season this year,killed a button buck and a small 9 pointer with my compound. First deer ever with a compound.Then went out for gun season and spotted a doe sleeping on the other hill.Went from 150 yards to 99 yards on my hands and knees sat up and made the shot. Doe went 10 yards then fell over.Ever since then I feel like it wasn't fair to shoot from that far.I have been hunting for 14 years and probably killed close to 30 deer but this is by far the longest shot.Most are under 40yards.I wonder how others feel about shooting long distances? Is it fair for the deer?I have lost the urge to deer hunt because of that shot.Any thoughts?????

2. Bassnpro1

Bassnpro1 OSU outdoorsman

I'm desprate for deer meat so any chance I get to put one down I do it. If I had more productive ground I would be more choosy.

3. I have never worried about distance shooting with a firearm. If it bothers you stick with bowhunting.

4. Well, you made a kill shot, so I see nothing wrong with it. Now if you had wounded the deer and never found it, that would be a different story.

Typically, I would never make that type of shot unless I was using my muzzleloader and had a very clear shot. Don't worry about it man. There are guys who shoot deer at 300 yards with rifles.

5. I wouldn't worry about it. With today's shotguns 100 yds is a relatively straight shot. I would rate it similar to a 30 yard shot with a bow, challenging, but accurate enough to get a reliable kill shot. Now if you are using a smooth-bore barrel with open sights it is a different story.

6. Lundy

Lundy Staff Member

When you elected to kill this deer you were obligated to do your best to make a clean and quick kill, you did that.

Does the degree of difficulty somehow validate one kill over another. If so for who? Is how others view you and your hunting prowess your real issue here?