Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
my target fish is crappie this year...now im a beginner in trying to select a certain species of fish to go after. but of course there are different methods used in catching different fish. now i keep reading that the artificial baits are more consistent than the minnows or smaller live baits? i dont have a particular preference, as i have been known to change my mind every 10 mins...lol but i know that if i really wanna be good with crappie, i need to know the pros and cons to each.

FISH TILL YOURE DEAD!!!

·
Registered
247 Posts
Jaydye,

I personally like to use "stubby butts" form Bass Pro. They are 1 1/2" long and come in a few different colors. I really like the limetruse color, but have had much success this year using the albino shad color. I use a 1/32 ounce jighead under an ice float (toothpick float). Any other info feel free to PM me.

Harrison08

Some crappie caught on them

·
Enjigneer
1,369 Posts
Aggressive spring crappies can be caught with just a light colored (white or chartreuse) 1/8 or 1/16 oz maribou jig. I like maribou jigs with chinelle wrapped on the shank. They can be worked slow or still under a float, cast and retrieved, or worked vertically in brush. Tipping with maggots, waxies, or even a minnow is optional, but adding meat sometimes brings in pesky bluegills. Plain minnows work too, but you have to lug a minnow bucket around.

In the summer, a minnow on a wire hook might be most productive, especially on suspended open water fish.

·
Master of Nothing
936 Posts