Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys and gals,

I've been fishing Western Lake Erie for 45 years, starting as a kid renting boats with my father and grandfather out of Anchor Point to running my own boats for the last 25 years. I've been thru the pea-soup look back in the 60's thru zebra-mussel clarity of recent years. I've been back on the water seriously for the last 3 years. My wife, son, and I were out again Sunday in the Islands area chasing smallmouth. After fishing, Kelleys, Gull Island Shoal, North Bass, Rattlesnake, Sugar, and other spots, I'm done. The Algae or whatever you call it was horrendous. Running, the boat cut the the green mess and looked real bad. Like parting the green sea. While stopped fishing the water was completely covered by a mat of thick nasty algae. It also had a nasty nasty smell. To the point that it was extremely unpleasant. We had real trouble finding a spot that wasn't repulsive to fish. I've decided that I WILL not fish the Western basin until this is remedied. I'm writing because my passion is fishing and in western Lake erie in particular since this is where I live. Sunday was a picture perfect day for the Lake and we could hardly bare to look at it any longer. The amazing thing to me was the extreme lack of boats on the water for such a day. I realize that the price of gas and the economy in general has put a dent in pleasure boating, but I am done with the Lake as it is. I will go to that state to the North until something is done.