close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Water quality tests

Discussion in 'Central Ohio Fishing Reports' started by Phillyfish, May 24, 2007.

1. Did anyone see the water quality tests conducted and reported by nbc news out of Columbus. They did tests at most lakes/resevoirs in central ohio (alum, delaware, hoover, griggs). Alum deemed unsafe to fish or swim because of fecal matter and e-coli. 4 times the level considered safe. You can check it out on nbc4.com. What does everyone think about these readings?

2. flounder

flounder 2 min 30 sec from Hoover

Hog wash all of it. They go through this crap every year during the ratings period. Just remember that not only do bears sh*t in the woods but so does every other woodland creature and it makes it's way into all of the surface water, not just Alum.

They "set up" the locations to find the results they showed.

I work in the environmental field and have performed these sample collections
    and know that a few random samples are not near enough to give a clear overall picture of water quality. It surprises me that the other locations tested were "clean" :rolleyes:

3. FLT_TUBE_JNKY

FLT_TUBE_JNKY Uber Tuber

Scare tactics, next Al Gore will be telling us that the ice caps are melting and we're all going to drown.(just more places to fish)

4. Sweet...I'll be able to catch halibut @ Antrim Lake.

5. FLT_TUBE_JNKY

FLT_TUBE_JNKY Uber Tuber

I was thinkin more along the lines of tarpon off my deck in the back yard.lol

6. Yikes! Looks like I'm gonna have to skip Alum for awhile. Oh well, I get :S there all the time so it doesnt matter to me now.
    Just wondering what they are going to do about it. What could be done to bring it back to safe levels? Is this the first time it happened? Just wondering.

7. Don't worry man....just hang out for a couple years...I'll invite you all over for beers and live baiting for striped marlin off of my patio.

8. FLT_TUBE_JNKY

FLT_TUBE_JNKY Uber Tuber