Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Fellas,

My cuz and I are planning a long,one day float trip that is in close proximity to Coshocton(where he lives).I have narrowed it down to one of these 2 rivers and would like some feedback regarding them.I fish but he doesnt so I have a willing navigator;).Also,all catch and release for me.For the Walhonding,maybe put in at Mohawk Dam and float to Coshocton-not sure of the distance.And for the Tusky,maybe Gnadenhutten to Coshocton.What do ya'll think?
Wanted to thank Andyman for the help while picking his brain too.
Thanks in advance,
Aaron

·
Registered
2,094 Posts
Gnaden to Coshocton is quite a trip on the Tusc. especially if you are fishing. We do a 6 mile float in newcomerstown sometimes that can take 8-10 hours if the fishing is good. You could do Newcomerstown to Coshocton. I've never done that stretch before.

·
Registered
582 Posts
Rocknfish,

My parents live near the Walhonding and I was over there Saturday. The Tuscarawas looked very muddy, but Walhonding looked good. In terms of time, it would be a long trip from Mohawk dam to Coshocton especially if you stop to fish any holes. I would say Mohawk dam to Warsaw would be about a nice trip or to the 6 mile dam. You will have to portage around the 6 mile dam if you are going all the way to Coshocton.

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
You bring up a good point Marshall...will want to stop here and there to fish holes im sure.We are planning on getting on the river by 8:00 am and get done just before dark.Bluegillin,would the Mohawk Dam to Warsaw trip fit that bill?How is the smallie fishin in that stretch?Anyone else know?

·
Banned
790 Posts
Below Mohawk is a good trip. It's been a while but I believe we always take out at Warsaw.
Smallie fishing can be outstanding, or very challenging. Also not the most scenic stretch of river in the state.