close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Wading for eyes at Mosquito

Discussion in 'Northeast Ohio Fishing Reports' started by babadoo, Aug 27, 2007.

1. Need advice ? I want to put on some waders and catch some nice eyes. When do the eyes start coming in ? Is it water temp or what ? Also were are the best places to wade ? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm new at this game. Thanks.

2. i have never fished WB, but typically in the rivers i fish the eyes move in when the water drops into the low 50's and stay until it freezes. you can always get a few at night through the year pretty much, but late fall is prime. alot of people like to wade beaches ect. i stay out of the water, those fish will feed in knee deep stuff at night and i feel wading spooks more fish than it helps you reach. windblow riprap or shallow sand/gravel flats near deeper water, always windblow, are my favorite areas
    goodluck

3. RIVERKING, this is something that I know nothing about but am intrigued. Are you saying that you can fish in the local rivers during certain times of the year either wading or from shore and catch walleye? I love to fish for steelhead and I think it would be a blast to fish for walleye the same way. Please let me know. Thanks.

4. steelheadBob

steelheadBob Robs Guide Service

wading mosquito alittle after ice out is good.. You have a couple of good spots... south east side off of the old sunken bridge, off of the point by the yaht club and the big sand bar just north of the state campgrounds... Small jigs tipped with minnows work well. I like using a floating jighead with a flour. carbon leader on 6lb line with as little of a egg sinker i can get away with...In the fall we used catch alot wading over to rattle snake island when the lake is down, and fishing the sand bar east of it. but i havnt done that in years...

5. ezbite

ezbite the Susan Lucci of OGF