Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello, just wanted to introduce myself, being a new member and all.

I am new to fishing in Columbus and streams in general. I grew up fishing the Niagra river, Lake Erie and the lakes surrounding Cleveland.

I have been trying to learn the streams around Columbus this year and have had a blast. Not having a kayak, I have been limited with spots to fish, I just don't know where to park most of the time for access to spots that look good.

Mostly I have fished the Scioto around Griggs and have waded around Scioto park. I average about 2 smallies on a good trip. The search for a great spot continues to elude me. At this rate I think I might be fishing for a couple of years before finding myself a honey hole :p

Today I waded Alum near Three Creeks. I started at Heron Pond and went waded for about an hour south then back up. I just couldn't believe how clear the water was. It was like fishing in tap water. I only saw one bass and caught one dink that was smaller then my pop r. There was no stealth involved in today's trip. Is this area usually so clear?

Thanks for all the informative discussions you folks keep posting. This appears to be a great community.

Happy Fishing.

·
Registered
337 Posts
just wanted to say welcome to the site and nice meeting you the other day at big darby. i ended up walkin down the rest of the way down to the creek and it did look decent. i should have taken my gear. i'm def going back there ill let ya know if its a good spot or not. i wade the darby quite a bit so i'll prolly see ya again.

·
Hack Fisherman
116 Posts
Welcome to the site!

I think you will find that nearly everyone on here is willing to lend a helpful hand.

I dont have a kayak either but that doesnt mean you need to be limited. Nearly every stream, with the exception of the Scioto, can be waded entirely. Especially with the lack of rain this year.