close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Vibee for saugeye?

Discussion in 'Walleye & Saugeye Discussions' started by ocdfishguy, Jan 3, 2005.

1. I need some advice, is there a color that should be used and what size works best? Went to the store and the selection was enough to make my head swim, came out dased and confused! I will be fishing from the bank, griggs, alum, and deer creek. I have never used them before and wanted to try them out. Any advice would be helpful.

2. Lewis

Lewis ORIGINAL TEAM OGF

They are an excellent lure for Saugeyes when the water temp is below 55 degrees.
    I use all sizes but the 1/4 oz. will work great in most cases.
    Sometimes they want the 1/2 oz size and sometimes you need it in current or very deep water.
    Braided line is very helpful in detecting the bite,as most times they will hit it on the drop.
    The no stretch feature is very helpful in good powerful hooksets also.
    I like to tie a florocarbon leader of at least 10 ft. in length in 10 or 12 lb test to the braid.
    Always use a round nose snap to connect the lure to the line..not a swivel.
    However,I have seen several anglers tie a barrel swivel inline about 2ft. above the lure,while still using a roundnose snap at the lure connection.
    Colors..whew...there are plenty,but here are a few that will catch fish consistently.
    Plain Gold
    Plain Silver
    Gold/Orange
    Gold/Green
    Firetiger
    Silver/Blue
    Red/White

Hope this helps.

3. misfit

misfit MOD SQUAD

better stock up on them if you casting the spillways ;)
    fishing them across the bottom as you need to,you'll be hanging a lot of them.