close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Unfortunate Miss

Discussion in 'Bucks and Does' started by r9ptbuck, Oct 8, 2007.

1. I missed a giant seven on Saturday night. Had the perfect setup, everthing worked out right, except for the shot! Shot him for thirty, and he was thirty five. Didnt have time to range him! The sad part is I have been hunting this deer for 2 years!:mad:

At least its early!

2. Shot him for thirty, and he was thirty five. Were we a little nervous ?U did not hit him at all ?

3. Nope was aiming for a heart shot, wish I was going for the lungs!

When you have an animal that big in front of you while ground hunting it gets the heart pumping. As a seven I bet he goes 140!

4. LOL....I tanked a shot last year from about the same distance, when a buck gets that close and your on the ground hunting it does get the heart going...I felt like I completely forgot how to shot a bow at that persise moment...had that deer in the headlight feeling....

5. Lundy

Lundy Staff Member

Only three outcomes can occur when you take a shot. A clean kill, a clean miss, a wounded animal. Two of the 3 are good. You ended up with one of the good results.

Your buck is still alive and well and you may get another opportunity.

6. I know how you feel. Last year, I had a giant 10 come in during the rut. He was moving about 60 yards from my right to my left. All of a sudden he turned and came right too me. I have my bow tuned in at 20 yards. I got excited and shot when he was at 25 (thinking it was close to 20). I shot right under him. He didn't even move...just stood there looking around. I couldn't even recock my bow. I was dumbfounded...my mouth dropped 18 feet to the ground. I was real confident with my shot because that was my first miss in the past 4 years. That was late October and I never did see him again. Hopefully he is down there this year.

I know your pain!