tubes in the river

Discussion in 'Southwest Ohio Fishing Reports' started by imalt, Sep 19, 2008.

1. imalt

imalt Banned

How do you fish tubes in the gmr? I was doing good with them in the creek. But I just cant seem to get them to work in the river. It seems like I either dont use enough weight and the current is taking them everywhere or using too much weight and getting snagged in rocks and everything else. Is the gmr that much better up north by troy it just doesnt seem like many people in middletown south post to much about catching anything down this way. I had one good night for smallies on the gmr but since then have been skunked. any help would be appreciated

2. I'm not an expert on this but from my experience, and paying attention to the posts on this site, smallie fishing does seem to be better in this area(Troy) and some big Catfish in your area. The LMR isn't too far from you if my memory serves and I hear about smallies there. I've never had luck with tubes either though some people obviously do. I never hear anything about good ol' rubber worms so I think I'm gonna try some. Always killed BIG LM in San Diego on those.

3. imalt

imalt Banned

I hate catfishing. I think I have to pick an area of river and really work it i move around too much i think.

4. fshnteachr

fshnteachr Lovin' the Outdoors

RedTailMatt showed me how he uses the tubes and it has worked. Stand below riffles and cast up river, let the current take it and just bounce around the rocks as it comes back down. I have used different weights and it really didn't matter much to me, just don't use anything too heavy. I just have experimented with it and have gotten better. YOU WILL LOSE TUBES if doing it right. But usually the water is shallow and you can walk to the snag and retrieve. (by the way, in my case, all of this has been done on the LMR)