close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Trolling with Dipsys

Discussion in 'Tackle Talk' started by The One, Jan 22, 2009.

1. The One

The One Ret. 1SG U.S. Army

Have a few questions for trolling the Eastern Basin for eyes. I am brand new to this concept with dipsys and it seems like the best way to go for the biggest bang for the buck. I plan to start small with two rods in the 8'-9' length and SG27+LC reels. With using only two rods will I need planer boards or will the settings on divers take them far enough from the boat? I'm thinking I would only need 000 and 001 sz. Is there better colors than others? I am thinking of going with the Walkers versus the Luhr as it seems less to monkey with. If I run 20lb power pro and say 12lb flouro leader would that be a decent set-up. Also I have never seen how the dipsy actually is placed on the line. Is it tied directly and then a leader? Or I have seen snubbers would the go on the leader side or the main line side. Any special knot to consider or swivels, releases etc. Thanks in advance for any and all help.

2. K gonefishin

K gonefishin Eye Slayer

I'll help out where I can here online but myself and Gary Zart are doing seminars that will cover dispy fishing in great detail this weekend both Friday and saturday, if you can make it.

I use the regular dispsy diver, it's what I've been using for years so I'm sticking with them, the only color I run is black or clear for the most part, when I'm steelie fishing as well I'll run some colors but black or clear is a safe bet, walleye won't spook due to all the flash in clear water. I typically only use the large dispey, they can cover the water column great, no need for small ones expecially in the central and eastern basin of Erie, the small ones at times will not even get deep enough and they don't release as well either.