Trolling motor thrust test?

Discussion in 'Boats and Motors' started by BigChessie, May 29, 2008.

1. BigChessie

BigChessie BIG PIMPIN' "GIGELO"

Is there anyway to "test" how many pounds of thrust a trolling motor is putting out. I was thinking maybe using a volt meter and checking to see how much juice was running through it, but I am far from an electrician and am just guessing:( . I picked up a 24 volt 67 lb, while testing to see if it worked, the prop does not seem to spin fast enough. My 52 lb seems to spin alot faster. So before I do all the work of mounting it I was wanting to see if I needed to replace or repair anything. Thanks, BC

2. just remember speed is not thrust, you can have the fastest motor out there but no thrust(torque) there is no way that i know of to test thrust the only thing you would get with a meter is how many amps the motor is pulling.

3. BigChessie

Seems like there would be some way of figuring out if your getting all of the pounds of thrust your supposed to. I guess I will just have to mount it and see how it does in the water. Thanks, BC

4. Bassnpro1

Bassnpro1 OSU outdoorsman

I thought the same thing when I got a new motor, but once I got it on the water it almost threw me out of the boat! I'm sure it will work fine on the water.

5. BigChessie

I got it from a fellow member so I am sure it will work out. Just wondering if there was a way to check it or someway to "rebuild" them if needed.