Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2,145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Someone just listed some Brit pups for free in the marketplace. I have always wanted a bird dog and I'm really thinking about getting one of these. My question is how much of my life will be consumed by dog training? I have no experience training a dog at all.

·
Enjigneer
1,369 Posts
BassBlaster,
I had no training experience when I got my E Setter 16 months ago. I started visiting hunting dog forums, especially The Pointing Dog Journal BBS, and picked up alot of training tips. For the most part I kept the training simple and fun and focused on obedience. I typically spend an hour or two with my dog 4 to 5 days a week walking, throwing a retrieving dummy, grooming, practicing whoa, heel, stay, come, etc. and generally interacting. I know we walked at least 250 miles the first twelve months I had her, and I lost 20 to 25 pounds of unneeded fat in the process.

I'm an amature, a novice, newbie, a neophyte, but in my opinion:
Training sessions should last only as long as they are fun.
Obedience training is first and foremost, it'll probably save the dog's life some day and it establishes who is in charge (you, hopefully:) )
Don't just wing it, research and follow proven methods.
A dog with strong hunting instincts will take care of the rest, so make sure the dog comes from good hunting stock.

·
Registered
1,654 Posts
DO NOT GET A BRIT! You will fall in love with them!! My son's two Brits are here, Brit was found near death in Kansas City in a Blizzard, Milo is simply the greatest Bird Dog I have seen. They will become part of your family, I said that would never happen. I have had many dogs over the last 40 years, these two are special! I always kept my working dogs outside, these two are in charge of the house. You will have a great companion.

·
Crossing Lines LIKE A PRO
2,550 Posts