Trailer Bouncing

Discussion in 'Boats and Motors' started by triton175, Apr 7, 2008.

1. triton175

triton175 STX 206 Viper

When I'm trailering my boat on the highway and hit a bump, the trailer bounces off of the road surface and the tires chirp when they land.
    I'm worried about this ruining my tires or damaging the trailer.
    This used to happen only occasionally when hitting a large bump. Now it happens all the time, even with very small bumps.

I'm pulling a Triton crappie boat, 17.5 ft, about 1800lbs, on a Triton trailer rated for 2500 lbs. New tires last year, and the trailer dealer told me the tire pressure should be 50 PSI. At 50 PSI the trailer bounced like a basketball, dropped it to 42 PSI, still bounced, now I'm at 36 PSI and still bouncing. ???

Trailer has no brakes, leaf springs, no shocks.

Any ideas?

Brian

2. I am not an expert on this but I would take a look at the weight distribution on the trailer. I believe most recommendations are that you have between 10-20% of total towing weight represented as tongue weight. That may be the first thing to take a look at. Since both the boat and the trailer are Triton I assume that it was matched up originally so it would seem that the trailer suspension should be appropriate. However you didn't mention how old the trailer is. Perhaps there is an issue with the springs on the trailer? I am just guessing. I am also curious to hear what others suggest.

3. I re-read your post and see that you did mention the "trailer dealer". That makes me think that the trailer was purchased separately. I am wondering if only running 1800# on a 2500# rated trailer may be the problem. If the suspension is too stiff it could cause the problem.

I would think your tire pressure should be higher than you are currently.

4. misfit

misfit MOD SQUAD

slowing down will help:p :D;)