Tracker 14 Jon Boat worth it?

Discussion in 'Boats and Motors' started by mosquitoangler21, Dec 29, 2007.

1. Hey guys, i'm thinkin about buying a Tracker 14 jon boat for this coming spring because I am on a tight budget being that I am a college student and I figure that it would be good enough for fishing Mosquito. I usually have to rent a boat everytime I go out and I figure this would save me money in the long run plus it should fit in the back of my friends GMC truck so i shouldn't need a trailer for it. Does anyone here have any experience with jon boats? I also have a Minn Kota trolling motor so i wouldn't need a motor.

2. ParmaBass

ParmaBass Kiss The Converse

Sometimes you can get more for your money by buying a used boat with everthing included. If you buy a brand new 14' Tracker Jon those are around $700-$800 right? There have been some deals on here that get you boat/motor/trailer and a few other items for around that same price.

3. freyedknot

freyedknot useless poster

a 14 ft jon may be too small for squito on most days, that lake is shallow and kicks up pretty good. i would get a 14 ft deep v at least as parma stated.

4. a '14 Tracker? those jon's are made by Fisher Marine, same boat as a fisher model but just cause they slap a "tracker" name on it they go for about $150 more. i looked into that boat a couple years ago and found that out. if you have one near you, check out a Fisher dealer.

5. I'll second that. Maximize your boating opportunities-go w/ a v-hull.

6. flathunter

flathunter Mellons mentor

I just sold one of those same boats, make sure you are not going to carry it far if you are hauling it in a truck, they get heavy...Personnly I would look for a used one first.