close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Tournament picture question

Discussion in 'Canoes & Kayaks' started by Govbarney, Aug 12, 2017.

1. I was considering taking part in a tournament next weekend , something I have never done before, this particular tourney has KBF rules. This morning I went out and practiced taking pics of fish in a hawg trough.... any advice from some experienced tourney fisherman, would my current pics cut it?... also how am I supposed to keep the fishes mouth closed??? ImageUploadedByOhub Campfire1502579393.286537.jpg ImageUploadedByOhub Campfire1502579413.677671.jpg .

2. My tournament friend says my pics wouldn't hold up for a tournament. But I think yours is fine.

3. Nice pig in the first post!

4. KBF requires mouth closed..beside that it looks pretty good. I tie off some fish grips to the side of my yak and leave the fish in the water as long as possible. It usually means they're alittle more relaxed when it's picture time.

5. As stated the mouth needs to be closed, identifier needs to be visible and not covered in any way. The fish cannot have anything in its mouth or under gill plates like a finger or string. Smallmouth do not like to cooperate like largemouth. Both of those pictures are point deductions because the mouth is open. ImageUploadedByOhub Campfire1502644100.292907.jpg if possible the picture should look like this. I know sometimes you have to hold the fish in place especially smallies. Try to have the trough at a slight angle towards the bump stop. The fish will slide down and naturally close their mouth.

6. Are you planning on fishing the Rumble in the River event hosted by BKFT?