close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

topwaters for smallies

Discussion in 'Southwest Ohio Fishing Reports' started by midoh39, Jun 28, 2007.

1. midoh39

midoh39 member

I'm pretty new to fishing for smallies and lately I have been using tubes with success, but as I read you guys are talking about topwaters for smallies so have some questions. What type of lures do you suggest and what areas are good to fish topwaters??? Any info will really help

2. fshnteachr

fshnteachr Lovin' the Outdoors

I love using Heddon Tiny Torpedos. The smallies attack these and it is really cool! I usually use topwater around a calm pool down from some rapids in the rivers. Good Luck!

3. Tubes are always one of my personal favorites for river fishing. I also like to use Maribou Road Runners in chartruese. However, top water fishing to me is the most exiting because the fish usually explodes out of the water to engulf the bait. Rebel makes a fun little cricket type thing and I have had huge success with that just twitching it across the surface of the water like a cricket that got caught in the water...the mosr realistic, the better it works. I am also a big fan of poppers. Those are two good top water bait for smallies i have found, however, if you want large mouth, gotta love a buzz bait on a nice hot day runnin on the shore line. Have fun and good luck.

-Wags

4. I like 5/8 oz black jitterbugs, black/silver rebel pop-r, black buzzbaits, I like to use them in pools below riffles, any shoreline cover, I also like to toss up on ledges that lead into deep water, I also do most of my topwater after dark.