to many deer and not enough hunters

Discussion in 'Bucks and Does' started by flathunter, Dec 30, 2008.

1. flathunter

flathunter Mellons mentor

i am just relaying a story, so dont get mad at me.

3 years ago my wife worked with a guy whose family had a huge farm.

they farmed 3000 acres mostly corn.

my wife said he would complain daily about the deer damge to his crops, and the large numbers of deer on his land.

so my wife asked him if he would allow me to hunt his land for deer, she said the guy got mad and hell no, we dont allow or like hunters.

now i understnd why some farmers have had bad experience with hunters, or slobs i should say.

but maybe i am looking at this the wrong way, if i was a farmer and loseing lots of money to deer damage, i would think i would invite hunters to come in and kill the deer.

he also said he had crop damge permits but him and his family could not kill them fast enough.

my view is he has no rite to complain, when he could allow dozens of hunters to come in and drastically reduce the herd..your thoughts

2. his land his choice and HIS LOSS!!