close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

The Captn's First Smoke!

Discussion in 'OGF Kitchen' started by captnroger, Jun 15, 2008.

1. captnroger

captnroger OGF Webmaster

Inspired by this thread: http://www.ohiogamefishing.com/community/showthread.php?t=94710

I've never done a successful smoke before, let alone own a "real smoker". So I set out to Walmart to purchase SMS unit (99 buck gasser), thanks to Sporty for the transport as the box wouldn't fit in my truck. Assembled it, and it sat on my back deck for a couple of weeks. Today I decided would be the day to give it a shot.

Off to Giant Eagle for some full spares ($2.29 a lb and they will trim them into full spares, pull the membrane and give you the skirt and extras free of charge.) Got them home and cleaned them up a bit (for reference the cutting board below is 24" wide, big ribs!)

[​IMG]

After rubbing yellow mustard and the rub, they are ready for the smoker:

[​IMG]

Here they are, loaded in the smoker. I replaced the small smoker box with a 8" cast iron pan loaded with a couple of chunks of mesquite wood.

[​IMG]

Smoke closed up and sitting at 225 on the nose after it comes up to temp.

[​IMG]

Updates to follow

2. captnroger

captnroger OGF Webmaster

An hour into the smoke I start to work on the fatty (stuffed pork sausage). I decided to stuff mine with green peppers, onions, and motz cheese. Here are the veggies sweating down:

[​IMG]

Ready to roll:

[​IMG]

Ready for smoker: (note to self, let hot ingredients cool before loading onto the sausage...was a real bear to roll and I'm not sure the seam will hold:

[​IMG]

1-1/2hrs into the smoke, the smoker is cranked as low as it can go and I'm reading a steady 230 on a relatively hot day. I guess I'll take it. I hit the ribs with some apple juice/jim beam mixture for the first time as I load the fatty (note to sell, you're about out of jim beam...) More to follow:

3. captnroger

captnroger OGF Webmaster