close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

strang fish caught at river

Discussion in 'Ohio River Fishing Reports' started by boonecreek, Apr 13, 2008.

1. i caught a strang looking carp at moscow boat ramp today.it was none like i,ve ever seen before. (39 years of fishing that stretch of river ) it was long and skinny, very very small mouth and had a red tail. its back fin was real long. would this be one of asian carp ?:confused: :confused:

2. Mushijobah

Mushijobah Urban Angler

Could be. A picture would help though!

3. have no way of taking pitchure, sorry.

4. Are you sure it was not a sucker ???

5. it would be the stragest sucker i,ve ever seen. checked out asian carp. the mounth was very different. i don,t know, i,ve never seen a carp like that. its laying on the bank at boat ramp. taking no chances.

6. gar

gar

I have been fishing the ohio river now for atleast 34 years and I may be wrong but I would have to say that what it sounds like to me and ive caught only 2 of these but have seen them milling around in the water and that would be the quillback sucker..and certain times of the year like in springtime I have seem them with red tails..maybe look it up and let me know if that was it...

7. webothfish

webothfish Steubenville

I think Gar has it right. I worked one year with the EPA shocking fish in rivers and streams and the Quillback was the one with the long dorsal fin. They like the bigger rivers and run in schools. When youd shock up one you got a bucketfull.

8. sevenx

sevenx "I sat by the river" N.Mc

quill back was my guess

9. Look up images of a quill back or a carp sucker, sounds like it might be one of these. If not one of these, then probably some other kind of sucker.

10. i hope it wasn,t on any endangered list. i,m going to do some studing on problem fish in this area ( asian carp, snake heads ect.,,, ) i didn,t want to release a bad fish, never thought about a endangerd list!!

11. Boone,