close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Squirrel Hunting

Discussion in 'Small Game Hunting' started by fshnteachr, Aug 28, 2007.

1. fshnteachr

fshnteachr Lovin' the Outdoors

I am new to this but am going to give it a shot Saturday. Any advice from the experts? Should I use a .22 or my shotgun? Any good public lands in the Dayton area you guys are familiar with? I am leery of skinning my first one but the video Onion posted was great, it should really help. Do you guys go full out on the camo, even though it's so hot? Is there anything to look for, health-wise, in terms of eating squirrels? Do you just fry them up?

Any tips would be great!

2. Personally i use a 22. Caliber.. sometimes a 4-10 gauge. But i advise to try and skin them while they are still Warm! i skin them right after i shoot them becasue they have really tuff skin. Eatin wise...Roll um in flower..throw them in the fryin pan and brown them a lil...then put it in the oven with a lil broth to cook the rest of the way. Good Eatin!

3. A lot of guys prefer to use the shotgun this early in the season because of all of the leaves are still on. You will not get any distant shots. Afsfar as camo is concerned I would suggest a thin cotton shirt and pants. Depending on where you are hunting you may like the idea of having the sleeves to avoid the briars, bramble, ticks, etc. With the heat I suggest only hunting the couple of hours at dawn/dusk because the squirrels are not going to be much more excited about being out in the heat than you are.;)

4. i agree with bkr i always use a 20 guage 6 shot and i havent missed one yet but i like using .22 some times for something diffrent and i normaly wear a dark blue shot sleeve shirt and a dark pea of shorts or thin pants

5. fshnteachr

Is a 12 guage too much for squirrel hunting??