Spring Food Plots: Planting Corn

Discussion in 'The Lodge' started by lg_mouth, Feb 5, 2008.

1. lg_mouth

lg_mouth It's Trigger Time!!!

Now that bow season has been out for a couple days, I figure it is time to start planning my spring food plots. I am seriously considering about half an acre to an acre of corn. I have very little knowledge on the cost of planting corn, so if anyone can give me an idea on what corn costs to plant an acre, I would appreciate it. Or if there are other ideas out there for spring plots that bring deer running like corn, feel free to let me know.

Lg_mouth

2. im not sure what the deer density is like in your area, but in most areas the deer will rape a half acre or acre of corn. Corn is probably the most expensive thing that you can plant for deer.

3. Corn will be a waste of time due to the small size of the plot. Unless you are using it for cover, I wouldn't even consider it. Green plots will bring deer running in the fall winter also. Winter Wheat/Rye, Buck Forage Oats, etc. We have tried the 1 acre corn plots, and they will be tore up as fast as they find them.

They use the green plots on a way more consistent basis, and the duration of the plot is much better.

4. lg_mouth

Well, I guess back to the drawing board. I was afraid that small amount of corn wouldn't last long, but I was hoping.

I have been interested in oat, would that small of a plot be large enough for oats?

I tried winter wheat, but they gnawed it to the ground before it matured. I will still put some out because it is cheap.

Thanks for the advice guys. Feel free to educate me further, as you can see I need the help!

Lg_mouth

5. i would suggest some kind of clover mix. Good ones will last several years and are tolerant to grazing, fairly easy to maintain, and fairly cheap.