spawn sacs

Discussion in 'Steelhead Talk' started by Walleye Mafia, Oct 28, 2008.

1. Walleye Mafia

Walleye Mafia Proud Walleye Addict

I just bought eggs sacs at gander mountain. I bought a few fresh egg sacs in the plastic tube in the refrigator and a glass jar of egg sacs. I am new at this and was wondering what the difference is is the two, other than the ones in the jar are in liquid. Ive heard the ones in the jar arent as productive as the spawn in the tubes. Is there a major difference in the two? Just wondering what everyones opinion is. I am unable to get fresh eggs (yet) so this is gonna have to do for now.

Thanks for the help.

2. I always hear that nothing is better than fresh eggs, even if you have froze them from last year. So as soon as you get some switch over. You also could be using a jig and maggot or minnows, this might be better than what you are using. When I froze mine from last year I split them up into several bags so as I can just thaw out a few at a time. Good luck and have fun!!

3. dmills4124

dmills4124 don m

Try the Berkley Gulp Alive salmon eggs. If they are like the other gulp products they should be better than the real thing. I got berkley's egg clusters this year but did not try them when I was up on the Grand last friday because the water was not clear enough.
    good luck.
    don m

4. If the ones in the tube are called Sure Strike, they will work very well. I wouldn't even bother using the ones in the jar. Try minnows or jig and maggots, too.

5. They usually have the bulk eggs in a jar that is also in the fridge with the tubes. You can tie your own sacs and use the tubes over to save some cash that way. Like the others have said stay away from the pre-tied sacs or eggs not in the fridge. :G The tubed eggs will do very well for you.