Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I have been looking for a fishing kayak for sometime. Most of my fishing will be on lakes and maybe LMR. I am 6’2” and 200lbs and I seem to pack rather heavy when I bank fish/wade.

I believe that I have narrowed the search down to a Wilderness System Tarpon 120 or the Wilderness System Ride 135. There are a lot of great reviews on the Tarpon and it seems like a great kayak, however I like the specs a little more regarding the Ride 135 but there are hardly any reviews for this kayak. What attracted me to this kayak was it is a little deeper and wider; weight is about the same. I have not seen this kayak so seeing it firsthand could make this decisions for me however it will be a little while until I can get to D&D Outfitters.

Has anyone tried the Wilderness System Ride 135 or is the Tarpon just the way to go ?

Thank for the help

·
Registered
196 Posts
I have no experience with the ride 135 but I have a tarpon 120 and love it. Its very stable and easy to fish out of, plenty of room for tackle and whatever else you might bring. Also has a good amount of leg room i am 6'4'' 215lbs and I had to remove the foot pegs but fit perfect now. good luck with your purchase you wont regret it.

·
Registered
15 Posts
old town makes nice boats. i have a loon 111, it's 11 feet long with a very large cockpit. lots of room behind the seat, and up front aswell. actually i can fit my entire campsite in my boat. eg. small tent, foam sleeping mat, small cooler and my fishing gear.

i'm a big guy, 6foot 265lbs, and have no problems with fit and comfort of my boat.