close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

So, How do you cook YOUR Bird?

Discussion in 'OGF Kitchen' started by Elamenohpee, Nov 22, 2004.

1. Elamenohpee

Elamenohpee Banned

Do any of you guys have a time tested, always right way to roast a turkey? My birds seem to be very inconsistant from year to year. Some years they are juicy and moist and others they are dry and grainy. Maybe it's the bird or maybe it's the cook :eek: :eek: Seems like there should be a way to get it right every time.

Thanks, and if I don't see ya before hand...Happy Thanksgiving :) :) :)

2. Get you a box of cooking bags Reynolds or other brand. Follow the directions that come with it i also use season salt all over the bird & pepper and poltry seasoning inside. Cut up some carrots and celery also some onion put some in the bird and the rest under it you will have a very juicy bird and it will fall off the bone. I have been doing it this way for over thirty years hope this helps. Good Luck on Turkey Day HAVE A GOOD ONE Fishguy :)

3. catking

catking Banned

Best thing since sliced bread.!!! Like FISHGUY pointed out, do a little creative stuffing of the bird.. These oven bags are excellent, and they also cut the cooking time in half , and the bird is always perfect... CATKING

4. mrfishohio

mrfishohio Recovering Fishaholic

Bags sound good, I think we usually wrap in foil, then remove the foil ( during the last 1/2 hour) & baste several times to get the golden brown.....

5. captnroger

captnroger OGF Webmaster

two things to do for a great tasting bird (this one comes from wolfgang puck and it's produced three great birds for me):

1.) Brine the bird overnight. Whatever brine recipe you like. I like one that has maple syrup & honey in the mix
    2.) Make a good herb butter using softened butter and fresh sage/rosemary Stuff the breast of the bird full of this stuff between the skin and the meat (going up underneath the skin flap where the neck was.