snapped off steelies

Discussion in 'Steelhead Talk' started by BIgbassin07, Nov 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I am new to steelies this year and i have only caught one so far this year and snapped of what would have been my 2nd. i am only 21 and havent had much time to fish especially with finals coming up.... i am using a regular spin rod which is like 7ft with 8lb flourocarbon invisible line under a float. i have changed my set up from jig and maggot to sucker spawn and fly. i thought my drag was pretty good when i had the fish on the line but it was jumping like crazy... do steelies normally snap the line alot or was it my own doing, such as being too aggressive, not having enough drag, pulling to fast and being to eager..any help on this would be great good fishing everyont

2. The warmer the water and fresher the fish = the harder they fight.....fish that have been in the river longer don't fight as hard (the darker ones), but they still have some shoulders....you could have done everything right and the dang thing just whooped you.....the one tip that I will give you is that river fishing can result in a lot of frays on your line especially using flourocarbon which frays even easier.....I actually quit using flouro in the rivers because of this and just stick to 6 lb mono.....check your line regularly for frays regardless of what you're using and be patient with it when you do set the hook.....the really fresh fish in water in the 50s can beat you up regardless!

3. corndawg

corndawg Go Bulldogs!!!