Smoking

Discussion in 'OGF Kitchen' started by Perchy101, Dec 26, 2008.

1. Perchy101

Perchy101 Here Fishy Fishy Fishy

Smoking 101 - Please help...

I got a smoker yesterday and i'm new to that type of thing - I believe I understand the concept but just want some good pointers on how to set things up.

My 1st dish I will make is pull pork... Going to smoke it with charcoal and wood hopefully. I'm thinking Hickory.

Any other suggetions?

2. can you give us a little more info on type of smoker you have? For pulled pork, i'd make up a rub or buy a commercially available one and put on the night before. I'd also use a boston butt for the pork. I usually take mine to about 195 to 200 before taking it off. I will take it off at 165 or so and wrap in heavy duty foil then put back on smoker. take it off 195 to 200 and then I place it in a cooler lined with towels. It will stay warm for hours and it helps it pull better. Down side to using foil is you wont' get good "bark" on outside of it. I HIGHLY recommend a probe thermometer with remote readout. that way you you won't have to keep opening the smoker to check the temps. just insert one end of probe into meat and plug other in end to the transmitter or reciever. you cant really cook by time on a smoker, you have to go by internal temps. Also, do not add too much wood to smoker. you just need a chunk or two. too much smoke can make meat taste bitter.
    Also , i'd recommend joining or visting a few bbq sites. here are a few I like-
    http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/
    http://www.bbq-brethren.com
    http://www.virtualweberbullet.com

hope this helps.

3. Perchy101

I will be using a barrel type smoker.

I'm currently looking for a rub now and I will go buy the Boston Butt for the Pork.

4. jeffmo

jeffmo officially unofficial!!!!