close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Skip jack

Discussion in 'Ohio River Fishing Reports' started by fishintechnician, Aug 21, 2017.

1. fishintechnician

fishintechnician Amateur legend

can anyone point me in the right direction to find skips? I have a trip planned for the beginning of October and I'm thinking of heading down and just spend a day trying to catch some to freeze up. I am new to the river and really new to skips. I have caught a few here and there in my castanet getting shad but I can't find any with any consistency. I hate to make a 2-3 hr drive just to find out I can't get any. Any and all I do is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance guys

2. The dams are your best bet. They are in thickest in the spring but you can still catch a handful here and there around here. If you are trying to really load up on them now your best bet would be to head south and hit TN or Alabama.

Around here you can hit Greenup Dam, Meldahl Dam, Racine, etc... you can catch them but you never know how many you will actually get. Sometimes 1, sometimes 10, sometimes 50.

GMRcatman and Salmonid like this.

3. fishintechnician

Hmm, not what I really wanted to hear lol. Hopefully I can find some, don't need a ton but I'd like to have some for the trip we have planned, I like to vary my baits as much as possible. Any bait stores carey them? We will be staying pretty close to the Belleville dam

4. good luck cause most we been finding are small 3-5 inch fish you might get a bigger one here or there but be better trying to fish for mooneye or shad.But mooneye dont freeze well at all.Another month and there will be 6-8 inch fishing moving in if we get lucky. this year has been all screwed up. I'm hitting river Saturday for the day I'll let you know how I do

5. fishintechnician