Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone I’m posting my first try at making a silicone lure mold. What I’m trying to make is a inline type of spinner bait. It was originally a top water lure that I thought had a great body shape for a inline bait. I made a jig to hold the 1 ½ PVC pipe that I’m using for a form and I filled it with clay and added my homing marks so I get the two halves back together striate. I think all I have to do is add a hole at one end to pour the silicone in and tape the two halves together so they don‘t leak. I’m hoping that’s all I have to do to make the first half. I would appreciate any feedback or advice on what I might be doing wrong or right. Like I said this is my first try and with the cost of some of the silicones out there I don’t want to make to many mistakes. Thanks’ for any help.

Attachments

·
A.K.A. Rooster
1,343 Posts
I was thinking about making something like this for melting down old soft plastics to make new ones. Let me know how it turns out. Looks awesome.

·
Registered
3,217 Posts
Looks great.Be sure and let us know how it works out.Seems you thought it out pretty throughly and hopefully it works great for you.Keep us informed.

·
Registered
414 Posts
I would think something stronger than tape to keep the mold from leaking. Make sure when you make the 2nd side you use some kind of mold release spray or powder to keep the two pieces from sticking together.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·