Silence your climber...

Discussion in 'Bowhunting' started by vc1111, Oct 15, 2008.

1. I'm sure I'm not the first guy to think of this, but I thought I'd share it anyway.

I have Summit treestand and I love it. I've been using it for about 9 years now. Its very comfortable and easy to use. I've seen the newer ones and really never saw any features that would make me want to upgrade.

Anyway, here's how I modified my Summit. I'm sure it should work on about any climber and its cheap and extremely easy to do.

I bought some of those pads the are used by the Marines and the Army for ground padding under a sleeping bag. They are made of a green foam and if you can find them at an Army Surplus store like I did, you can get the used ones for a buck or two. You'll only need one, but I bought several. (I actually use one under my sleeping bag occasionally too). I'm sure if you check around on the net you can find them cheap.

Anyway just cut up the "ground pad" and use zip ties to place padding under the "arm rests" of the part you sit on.

I also chose to pad the rails of the platform too. I used 1/2 pipe insulation for the platform, although I could have used the sleeping bag pad for the bottom too. The pipe insulation is also dirt cheap.

Here's a some pictures...the platform:
    [​IMG]
    I chose to pad the side support rails on the platform (the part you stand on) because it silences the cables a bit when installing the climber on a tree. The cables on a Summit climber are metal covered with shrink tubing, but the rails into which you insert the cables are hollow aluminum. Without a bit of padding they tend to sort reverberate when you slide the cable in after wrapping it around the tree. This bit of padding dampens the sound nicely and keeps your hand warmer because you're not handling cold aluminum on those chilly mornings.