Ohio Game Fishing banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to fishing in the area, and in doing my research, it seems like Edgewater Park would be a great spot for shore fishing, mostly because there's a TON of structure in close, with a football field-sized area of chunks of the old fishing pier on the bottom.

I've gone out twice, once in the evening, and last night just after sunset.

In both cases, I've been completely skunked. Not even a bite.

Spent a while jigging a skirted head with a grub on it like a crawfish over the structure (and under the current pier), got nothing. Tried several spoons/spinners, nothing. Dropping a Senko in, nothing.

Has anyone here had luck there, or is it just not a good spot? I'm hoping it gets better as the water temp cools off, but I was figuring with so much structure that close to shore, it would be a good spot in general.

·
Registered
30 Posts
I'm no expert but I believe its somewhat of a timing issue at EW in my opinion. Steelhead on spoons from now through Oct. morn and evening. During the late fall evening and nights for Walleye with stick baits. Spring and fall maybe some perch in close. Never really targeted small mouth there but did have one follow up a spoon at the shore once. I would say most small mouth would be a little offshore on the man made reefs there. Maybe try some live crayfish.

·
Registered
225 Posts
I've caught a few bass there using plastic crayfish. I've used a bunch of different kinds, but now I swear by the YUM F2 Crawbugs. add a small splitshot about a foot from the hook and it works great almost everywhere (especially the chagrin). Also wacky rigged 4" senkos in pumpkin worked as well.

·
Registered
1,731 Posts
Walleye at night in the fall/spring. Perch in the spring. Steelhead in the fall. It does seem like it's hit or miss fishing there, though. The rock bass in the marina there are pretty consistent in the late spring.

·
Registered
27 Posts