close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Shingles....and I don't mean roofing

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Hatchetman, Mar 16, 2008.

1. Hatchetman

Hatchetman Senior Member

Well, I seem to have broken out in a rather good (?) case of shingles. I've had them for about a week and am taking Valtrex 3 times a day. They are entering the burning sensation phase right now. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to ease the burning sensation ? I've tried several triple rum and cokes and they do make me feel better but I still feel like I was around Misfit when his o2 tank lit up. Any suggestions?? Thank's....Pete

2. im no doc and it sounds like you need one .solarcane works for sunburn and then theres allways landing a giant musky that would make me feel better

3. ironically im a roofer and an employee got "the shingles" a few years ago...said they hurt like hell!! back pain is what he said...doc told him it was a form of adault chicken pox

4. misfit

misfit MOD SQUAD

i can't help much,other than suggest you avoid misfit's o2 tank and have a few more drinks:p

ps........hope you get to feeling better soon,pete.

5. I FEEL FOR YOU!!!! I had shingles 2 years ago and they we miserable. Unfortunatley, as the scabs dried up, the irritation increased. One thing the nurse told me I could do was to put ZOSTRIX (a pepper based cream) on the affected areas after all the blisters were healed. The idea is to toughen the area and trick the nerve endings to eliminate the discomfort. Believe me, IT DIDN'T WORK. Not only did I have the exterme discomfort of the shingles, I felt like I had chemical burns all over my abdomin.