Seeking opinions - bass fishing

Discussion in 'Tackle Talk' started by bobby, Jan 20, 2009.

1. I am looking into buying a new rod/reel set up for the year and can't seem to make up my mind. Do I buy a nice crankbait set up or a nice set up for flipping jigs. I have little experience with cranking for bass, but I think it is an important tactic to learn. However, I really like fishing jigs in cover.

How many of you fish crankbaits a lot during the spring/summer/fall? And do you think it is worth considering buying a cranking set up to learn on? Or should I stick with what I like best? I currently have a decent jigging set up, so this would simply be an upgrade.

For the record, I am leaning towards the cranking set up.

Thanks for your opinions.

Bobby

2. Marshall

Marshall Catch Photo And Release

If your all set with your other rod combos then a cranking rod would be a good choice. If not you can get a rod you can use for other purposes along with cranking. For years i used rods that were not labled cranking rods. You just would not use a flipping stick for that rod. Get a medium action rod in your lenght of chioce and it will work well and you can use it for other applications. But if you throw cranks a lot it is a good idea to get one specifically designed for cranking. You will keep more of em hooked. More importantly the rod needs a limber tip but the whole rod should not be a noodle. Towards the reel the rod should have some backbone. Even then you will still loose a few even with the right rod. More importantly put good hooks on the crankbait and check them often.

3. Tokugawa

Tokugawa Tackle addict