close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Scopes

Discussion in 'Guns and Ammo' started by catfisherman, Aug 21, 2004.

1. Hey everyone, I have a quick question I have a Thompson Center 50 cal. muzzleloader and was wanting to get a scope for it and have no clue what strength to go for, any advice would be helpful. If I get a scope where in northeast ohio can I site it in. Thanks in advance. Andy

2. jeffmo

jeffmo officially unofficial!!!!

catfisherman,i'm no expert on muzzleloader scopes but some of the guys on the hunting informations site might be able to give you some good advice.
    when i was planning my '03 elk hunt some of the guys really gave me alot of help on the when,what,and wheres of elk hunting.the only sad part is that now i'm hooked and i have to wait another year or two to get back out there.
    just go to the talk groups then put a post in the optics section i'm pretty sure you'll get some help.
    http://www.huntinfo.com/

3. Lundy

Lundy Staff Member

catfisherman,

Scopes preferences are very individual, it's a lot like women, some like blondes, some like redheads, some like men (open sights) :D

It's really what you want out of your scope. What kind of terrain do you hunt? Is it primarily in the woods or is it more open country. What is the longest shot that your gun load is capable of? What shots do you feel comfortable with.

For many years I hunted in heavy wooded areas that reduced almost any shot to 100 yds and under. There is also reduced light available in the early morning and late evening. I hunted with a 1x4 x 20 scope and it worked pretty well. Those were also the days of slower less effective muzzleloader loads.