close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Scioto PM 8/18

Discussion in 'Central Ohio Fishing Reports' started by topwaterdevil, Aug 19, 2008.

1. topwaterdevil

topwaterdevil SMB and Saugeyes.

Hit the Scioto for about an hour and a half in the Dublin area tonight. Caught numerous rock bass, a nice bluegill, several smallies (largest at 14") and a 13" saug. Plastics have been the go-to recently. Cranks have been a lot slower and resulted in more hang-ups while the topwater bite has been dead. The fishing seems to be better on the nights when they are letting water through the Oshay dam as it keeps the flow moving and the fish active.

2. i thought oshay's dam was an over flow dam? maybe I'm wrong.

One thing I can agree with is that plastics are the go too bait right now. That's all I've been using for the last two months. Yet to get a skunk while throwing soft plastics.

how was the water up there? last time I was there it was pretty dry in spots.

3. Mushijobah

Mushijobah Urban Angler

Oshay has control over water release. It will fluctuate to serve Columbus' water during peak periods. They are also working on the water supply dam down at 910 Dublin Rd. Low water conditions during work hours.

4. The water was clear and low yesterday. Almost seemed to be flowing backwards..??? Really slow flowing around 161.

The afternoon bite was surprisingly much better than I thought it would be.

Light blue 1/8 oz roostertail with a silver blade still working for me.

Beautiful day!!!

Did better yesterday than I did Sunday on the Rocky.

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 30, 2015
  5. topwaterdevil

headed out again right now. water level appears to be drawn up again, but might be on its way down. I'll report later.

6. topwaterdevil

Did well again tonight. I think I got 7 smallies and 5 rock bass from a 50 yard stretch in an hour and a half. Still on plastics. All released.

7. acklac7

acklac7 S.S.