Scent Control

Discussion in 'Bucks and Does' started by fshnteachr, Sep 21, 2008.

1. fshnteachr

fshnteachr Lovin' the Outdoors

I am pretty new to deer hunting this season. Did a little last season but am serious this season :) What do you guys do for scent control? Specifically those who drive somewhere to hunt.

Here is my thinking....I totally wash my clothes and everything is scent free, then I get in my car and drive out to public land for the hunt. How do I keep any scent from the car from getting on me? Also, my deer stand is in the garage with the cars and lawn mowers and such. Won't it have a negative smell?

I have read articles and right now I am flustered because these articles make it sound like if you don't parachute down into your deer stand from the air the deer will smell you and get spooked. Am I overracting?

Advice?

2. I do it this way.

I wash all my clothes in scent away soap or similar. I then put them in a rubbermaid or similar tote with a lid to keep them "Pure". Do not dress until at the woods ready to hunt. If hunting in the morning and hunting again the same afternoon, put them back in the tote until afternoon hunt, and after redressing for the afternoon, spray down with scent killer or similar.

I rewash all clothes after every hunting day.

3. I wash all of my clothes in scent free soap and also store them in totes, outside covered with a tarp. I wear my hunting clothes in the vehicle and have not noticed and problems with that. Last year I tried something new that at first sounded a little goofy but worked very well. It is called a scent smoker. Basicly its a bee smoker on steroids. When I am done taking my scentfree shower I smoke my body and clothes as I put them on. The only downside is keeping all the neighborhood hotties from sneaking around and watching me:p