close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Sarasota Fla.

Discussion in 'Fishing Reports - Out of State' started by Lucky Bass, Mar 14, 2005.

1. Hey All,
    I have seized the opportunity to visit Sarasota Florida for spring break (3/21-3/26). I just wondered if anyone has any suggestions for getting into some fish down there. I have never done any saltwater fishing before and would just like to get into some fish. The spanish mackeral during the day and the snook at night sound like a good time. I wouldn't mind just catching a LOT of fish like sheephead as long as they pull. Thanks for any advice!!

Norm

2. Haven't been there for years, but shrimp was a great bait years ago

3. FishJunky

FishJunky AEP Tuber Association

Any pier will hold Sheephead. I was just down in fort myers and caught alot of sheephead. Just use live or fresh shrimp right up next to pilons. The best thing for snook is Live Shrimp. Use a swivel and a two foot piece of 20# florucarbin for your leader. They can see steel leaders. If the surf is calm don't use a weight if it's a little ruff use a 1/2oz to 1oz slip sinker. Spanish are fun to catch too. I use anything that is shiny with some weight to it fishing off the pier. When you go to buy bait get your live shrimp at any bait store, but if you just want dead shrimp go to the fish market. It's alot fresher and believe me the fish no the differance.. Good luck and let me know how you did.. PS Any open faced bass combo will work with 14 to 20 pound line. My preferance is 14lb line with 20lb leader...