sabots

Discussion in 'Guns and Ammo' started by jig-eye, Nov 5, 2008.

1. I have a Mossberg 835 with a rifled barrel,cant find a sabot that this gun likes,any comments? This is my first try with a shotgun,I always used my muzzle loader but would like to have a second shot.THANKS

2. Lewis

Lewis ORIGINAL TEAM OGF

I too had a Mossberg 835 and it didnt group very well either,until I tried the Winchester BRI Sabots.
    2 inch groups at 100 yards.

3. I have the same issue with my 500. I can't keep them within 5-10" at 50yrds!

I will have to try the BRI sabots.

4. federal barnes expander 3/4oz these shoot realy good out of my 12ga 500 ts
    i shoot sst slugs out of my 20ga ts 500 killed doe last yr at 125yrds on the spot.
    my 12ga 500 also shoots bri's good,best group i have shot with it was with federal expanders had 3 touching at 100yrds
    just got the 20ga last yr, sst are the only thing i shot out of it so far and i am very happy with them
    twister

5. jeffmo

jeffmo officially unofficial!!!!

the trouble could be the barrell itself.is it a mossberg barrell?
    i'd give it a good cleaning(if it needs it) to make sure the grooves in the rifling aren't foulded with lead.after that try some different brands of sabots again.if none of them group very well you may consider an after market barrell.
    also,if you're not using a gun vise,try one.

6. man im glad you started this thread. i took my cousin out last night he bought his first gun its the moss. 835 combo. camo'd stock 2 barrles the cantalever slug barrel. i told him i would try to find out where to start with slugs with it for him. man its a gorgeous gun.

7. I have a question you may be able to answer.
    I have a Mossberg 500 12ga. and plan to go deer hunting in December. I only have the field barrel and a friend of mine told me I can remove the choke tube and use slugs through the field barrel. I always thought the field barrels were for shot only.