close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Rod Building Kits

Discussion in 'Tackle Making' started by CDL, Dec 30, 2008.

1. CDL

CDL

Has anyone ever tried the rod building kits that are out there? I've never built one before and it seems like a good place to start.

2. Cutt Em Jack builds beautiful rods. I hope he chimes in on this one.

3. Cutt'em Jack

Cutt'em Jack Musky Madman

Cdl,
    The rod building kits are the way to go if you are only planning on building one or two rods. However, if you've never built one before I would suggest buying a cheap blank from a supplier like mudhole ( http://www.mudhole.com/ ) and start there. I would of hated to spend 100 bucks on a kit and end up ruining it for your first one. You can get cheap blanks there for under 20 bucks. You'll also need cork rings, reamer, epoxy, guides and thread. I would recommend calling mudhole, tell them that you want to build a rod to your specs and they'll set you up with what you need. They are very good. I've called them when I was starting out. Flexcoat also sells a video that is pretty basic, but explains everything you do to complete a rod. It doesn't get into decorative wraps or anything, but shows how you put a rod together. It is NOT as hard as it looks. I've built around 20 or so and really enjoy it. BEWARE though, it is really addicting, and can be as expensive as you want to make it. The nicest thing is you build it the way you want it. I'll help out any way I can. Just pm me for anything you have a question on, or post up for all to learn too.

4. CDL,