Rigs for river Flattys

Discussion in 'Catfish Discussion' started by striperswiper, Feb 18, 2009.

1. striperswiper

striperswiper Catfisherman for life;)

I was wondering what kind of rig ideas everyone has for flatheads in the river what kind of equipment ive been using the same typical rig for a few years now and its time to switch it up to something new and hopefully better!!

2. I usually go with a no-roll slip rig. No roll sinker followed by a bead, followed by a swivel, leader and then a circle hook, simple and effective.

3. striperswiper

my rig is short and simple a bobber stop,small bead,big bead,slip sinker,little bead,big bead,bobber stop,swivel leader,circle hook

4. Can I ask what the purpose of the bobber stops is?

I use the same set up as fishdealer described. I thought the purpose of a slip sinker was so the fish wouldn't feel the weight of the sinker when it picked up the bait. Seems the bobber stops would eliminate the "slip" in the slip sinker.

5. flathunter

flathunter Mellons mentor

Thats the same rig that i use, but I dont use a bead...I throw weights from 4 to 8 ounces and have never had an issue not using a bead.

6. striperswiper

Yes but i leave enough room for the sinker to slide maybe 3" that way it forces the fish to actually put some efort into picking up the bait therefor a better chance of hooking them now you can miss alot but you sure do hook alot to :B

7. -mike-

-mike- We got time for this?

Mine is real technical. 65 pound power pro run thru a 2, 4 or 6 ounce no roll tied to either a gammy octopus hook, or a kahle hook. Size depending on bait.
    No stops, or swivels.

8. fisherman5567

fisherman5567 Fishin Everyday

DITTO to the T.

9. Steelwolve

Steelwolve COCC- Director