Returning to College

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Columbusslim31, Dec 1, 2007.

1. Columbusslim31

Columbusslim31 Student of Finjitsu

OK. So 10 years after dropping out of college, I start winter quarter at Ohio State in January. I'm terrified. I'm 31 years old and I'm still not certain what degree I should go for. I'm leaning towards pre-dental, but being that I can only take 10 credit hours per quarter, as per the agreement with my job that's paying for my education, I'm liable to be 40 by the time I graduate. Which isn't so bad, but I guess I need reassurance that it would be worth putting the time in and dealing with the stress that comes with pursuing such a degree. Basically at this point I'm looking for a little guidance. (My guidance counselor wasn't much help.) When I first attended college I majored in computer programming. Then I took a programming class. Suffice it to say, my career in that field ended shortly after. I guess I'd just like to hear from someone who's found what it is they want to do with their life and how they came to that conclusion. I've heard, "Whatever your interests are, choose a job in that field." Well that's kind of hard when you have so many interests and you can't make a decision. I don't know. I guess I'm just looking for some insight. I'd like to make sure that the next 30 years of life mean something. Not to say that a degree can do that, but I would think that it helps. Anyway, it would just be nice to know that at one point some one else felt, or still feels, the way I'm feeling now. As usual, ANY input would be greatly appreciated.