close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Rabbit Hunting today

Discussion in 'Small Game Hunting' started by TritonBill, Jan 9, 2005.

1. Went rabbit hunting today in SE Ohio down by Cadiz, Ohio. This is my first time hunting rabbits in years, atleast 13yrs! We spooked up 6 rabbits out of the brush and got to shoot at 4. We must be a really bad shot because neither one of us got one! We were just walking , rattling brush , no dog with us today. Still felt great to get out and enjoy the day. We probably walked 4 miles. This was also my first time shooting my new Remington 870 12 Gauge.

Can't wait to do it again sometime soon.

On the way home we saw a red fox along the road, man I haven't seen one of these in a long time.

2. i went out and hit the feilds today myself...my dog was having some trouble but i ended up geting one..not to bad for state property

3. Sounds like fun BigJohn! Good shootin.

Two of the rabbits today were really big, very healthy looking. My reaction time just wasn't up to par!

4. Getting out is what really counts...
    Rabbit hunting is what I started on and even though my kids have walked with me I can't wait till their holding a gun too...

5. How old are your kids and when did they start walking with you? I thought about letting my son walk with me, he's 6 and I think he'd get a kick out of it.

6. I have twins a boy and girl who have been going out hunting with me since they were 3 years old... They both have seen me take turkey and rabbits but we've never taken a tree rat or a deer together.. Yet ;)
    My 4 year old daughter has been going since she was 2 and yes I did alot of carrying of them all at some point LOL
    The trick is to quit when their ready and not make it too long so it becomes a bore or worse a chore!!!
    Have fun with it and your son will grow into it... Remember its not the taking of the game animal thats fun but everything that leads up to that point...