close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Question for the guru's!

Discussion in 'Ohio River Fishing Reports' started by rockbass, Jul 12, 2004.

1. rockbass

rockbass Banned

Hey guys,

I am new to boat fishing in a way. I am young and somewhat dumb you could say. (only 23) I just purchased my first boat other than the jon boat I had. it is a 12 foot v bottom with 10 horse motor. you know, I just purchased my first home this past winter and all that. I am starting out in the real world after renting since I graduated high school. So naturally, I do not have the cash flow to buy a bigger/better boat such as Doc and Larry's that I have seen at the Cripple Creek outings. My question is, would my boat be safe to use in the Ohio??? I would like to fish for bass and cats. Though it would be a while for me to scout the area for good cat spots. I mean I am a Ohio River virgin. I want to fish it, but am not sure if my boat can handle it. I have heard bits about barges and stuff and wondered how bad it is. Any info you guys can give me is great. I know you guys will help me out.

Oh yeah, I am a fisherman. Practice catch and release and don't leave trash behind. What I am getting at is you don't have to worry about me screwing up the water way that you guys are so familiar with. Thanks ahead of time! :)

2. mrfishohio

mrfishohio Recovering Fishaholic

I would not recomend a 12' boat on the Ohio. You could get by most of the time in it, but sometimes it's not going to be enough. You could stay in creeks & backwaters like Eagle Creek & be fine. On a windy day & lots of traffic & a barge, you might get into trouble on the big water. If the wind blows up or down a good stretch, then it can be treacherous, big waves, maybe not like Erie, but sometimes everyone has to come off the water. I've seen them 3-4' and it was scary. :eek:

3. what part of the ohio river do u want to fish

4. Doctor

Doctor CJ Cat Attack Pack

Rockbass,