Ohio Game Fishing banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Rookie cooler filler
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am still new to this whole trolling thing and have a question. does the color of the jet diver or dipsey have any effect on catching fish? the only reason i ask is i have caught three trolling and hooked about ten, but they have all been on the same line. the lure has been different, but i run two rods (i'm usually by myself, work second shift) and all have been on the same one. the only difference i have on the setup is one of my dipseys is black (the one catching fish) and one is green (obviously, no fish) my pink and green jets don't seem to work either. can i just paint them black? any advise would be great..............

·
Administrator
9,450 Posts
My buddy painted his all black... thinking of doing the same... got to find the right paint. Maybe somebody will share what paint will hold to dipsies and jets.

·
Registered
382 Posts
Some swear by the black jets/dipsys. Like anything else it all depends on the day. Sometimes the fish like the extra shine that the dipsey might put off, and other days they might shy away from it. If I'm not mistaken, a lot of the charter captains like to run the green w/ yellow ring dipseys (for what thats worth). We switched to some black this year and haven't seen much of a difference. A few days they liked the colored ones better, and some days there's no difference. That probably doesn't help a whole lot, but its my .02

·
Registered
965 Posts
Rustoleum makes a spray paint just for plastics. I just scratched the face up a little with sand paper and then sprayed them. I'm a firm believer of black but thats just my personal preferance!!

·
Registered
3,851 Posts
Painted all my jets and dipsys black. Used plastic enamel paint that bonds to plastic (Home Depot I think). Might be just my imagination but two yrs back I felt that black or clear dipsys caught more fish than green or purple.