close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Question about boats

Discussion in 'Southwest Ohio Fishing Reports' started by NKUSigEp, Jul 31, 2007.

1. I have a chance to buy a 19 ft. Starcraft boat with a 90 HP Mercury engine on it for what seems like a pretty good price.

I'm rather new to the boat-world and have only had experience with my dad's Ranger. So are these decent boats? And what about the motor? Any help y'all can give me is greatly appreciated!

AD

2. krustydawg

krustydawg KrustyDawg

I own two Starcrafts, one 16 ft. aluminum with a 25hp Merc OB and a 24 ft. Fiberglass with 260 hp I/O. Starcraft has a great reputation for being built to last and so far (knock on wood) I have yet to have a major issue with either boat. If you are serious about purchasing the boat bite the bullet and have a professional survey performed. If the Boat Surveyor finds any issues either ask the seller to have the issues fixed at their cost or get a quote from a Marine shop and have the seller take the repair costs off the selling price and have it fixed after the purchase. Just my two cents, good luck !

3. Thanks for the info! I know the guy who's selling it (drummer in one of my bands) but it sounded too good to be true at first and we all know how that turns out 99% of the time.

Anyone else have anything to add?

4. I guess another thing I forgot is what would be a decent estimated price for this boat - I don't know how old it is yet but it looks to be within the last 20 years or so and in good condition.

5. krustydawg

krustydawg KrustyDawg

In order to estimate a price you will have to give the year and model of Starcraft. I am assuming that it is aluminum. Also what else does it come with (secondary items) fishfinder, safety equipment, rod holders etc....